Faculty

For more information on the Faculty member click on their name or photo.

Laeeque Daneshmend, Ph.D., D.I.C. 

Professor/Undergraduate Chair

(613) 533-6366, Goodwin 325
LKD1@queensu.ca

Machine Design, Equipment Maintenance, Maintenance Management, Reliability Analysis, Systems Modeling, Simulation and Control, Mining Automation, Telerobotics

Laeeque Daneshmend

Euler De Souza, Ph.D., P.Eng.

Associate Professor

(613) 533-2199, Goodwin 334
euler.desouza@queensu.ca

Mine Ventilation, Mine Environment, Instrumentation, Backfill

Euler De Souza

Ahmad Ghahreman,  Ph.D., P.Eng.

Assoicate Professor

(613)533-3294, Goodwin 340
ahmad.g@queensu.ca

Hydrometallurgy and biohydrometallurgy, Mineral processing wastes and their remediation, Electrochemical dissolution of complex minerals (fundamental studies), Flowsheet design and modeling

For more information: www.hydrometallurgy.ca

Ahmad Ghahreman

Anne Johnson,  Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

(613) 533-2205, Goodwin 331
Anne.Johnson@queensu.ca

Management of Social Risk, Sustainability Reporting and Metrics, Mining Law and Policy, Community Relations

Anne Johnson

Takis Katsabanis, Ph.D., P.Eng.

Head/Associate Professor

(613) 533-2197, Goodwin 329
takis.katsabanis@queensu.ca

Detonation Physics, Blasting, Fragmentation, Vibration

Takis Katsabanis

Sadan Kelebek, Ph.D., P.Eng.

Professor

(613)533-2207, Goodwin 341
Sadan.Kelebek@queensu.ca

Mineral Processing Technology, Process & Tailing Environment, Computer Assisted Process Analysis, Complex Sulphides and Pyrrhotite Rejection

Sadan Kelebek

Steve McKinnon, Ph.D., P.Eng.

Professor and Chair Mine Design
 

(613) 533-6553, Goodwin 335
steve.mckinnon@queensu.ca

Stress fields in complex geological environments, mine design in high stress conditions, mining induced seismicity, and geodynamics modeling of the earth's crust.

For more information, visit Dr. McKinnon’s personal web pages: click here

Stephen McKinnon

Asli Sari

Assistant Professor

(613)533-2639, Goodwin 344
y.sari@queensu.ca

Surface and underground mine planning, data analysis, machine learning applications in mine optimization, fleet management, mine automation

Sari Asli

Julian Ortiz, Ph.D. 

Associate Head/ Associate Professor/ Graduate Chair

(613) 533 2910, Goodwin 332
Julian.Ortiz@queensu.ca

Geostatistics, stochastic modeling of ore deposits, sampling and QA QC, geometallurgical modelling

For more information on Dr. Ortiz' research: 

Geomet website

Julian Ortiz

Chris Pickles, Ph.D., P.Eng.

Professor

(613) 533-2759, Goodwin 342
Christopher.Pickles@queensu.ca

Processes and the Environment, Advanced Pyrometallurgy, Process Engineering for Metals Extraction, Advanced Metals Extraction

Chris Pickles