Faculty

For more information on the Faculty member click on their name or photo.

Laeeque Daneshmend, Ph.D., D.I.C. 

Professor/Undergraduate Chair

(613) 533-6366, Goodwin 325
LKD1@queensu.ca

Machine Design, Equipment Maintenance, Maintenance Management, Reliability Analysis, Systems Modeling, Simulation and Control, Mining Automation, Telerobotics

Laeeque Daneshmend

Euler De Souza, Ph.D., P.Eng.

Associate Professor

(613) 533-2199, Goodwin 334
euler.desouza@queensu.ca

Mine Ventilation, Mine Environment, Instrumentation, Backfill

Euler De Souza

Ahmad Ghahreman,  Ph.D., P.Eng.

Associate Head/Associate Professor/Graduate Chair

(613) 533-3294, Goodwin 340
ahmad.g@queensu.ca

Hydrometallurgy and biohydrometallurgy, Mineral processing wastes and their remediation, Electrochemical dissolution of complex minerals (fundamental studies), Flowsheet design and modeling

For more information: www.hydrometallurgy.ca

Ahmad Ghahreman

Charlotte Gibson, Ph.D., P.Eng.

Assistant Professor in Intelligent Mining Systems

(613) 533-6673, Goodwin 325C
Charlotte.gibson@queensu.ca 

Integration of mining and processing systems, machine learning applications in mineral processing and metallurgy, process development for minerals used in energy storage applications, oxide mineral flotation

C.Gibson

Anne Johnson,  Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

(613) 533-2205, Goodwin 331
Anne.Johnson@queensu.ca 

Management of Social Risk, Sustainability Reporting and Metrics, Mining Law and Policy, Community Relations

Anne Johnson

Takis Katsabanis, Ph.D., P.Eng.

Associate Professor

(613) 533-2197, Goodwin 329
takis.katsabanis@queensu.ca

Detonation Physics, Blasting, Fragmentation, Vibration

Takis Katsabanis

Sadan Kelebek, Ph.D., P.Eng.

Professor

(613) 533-2207, Goodwin 341
Sadan.Kelebek@queensu.ca

Mineral Processing Technology, Process & Tailing Environment, Computer Assisted Process Analysis, Complex Sulphides and Pyrrhotite Rejection

Sadan Kelebek

Julian Ortiz, Ph.D., P.Eng.

Head/Associate Professor

(613) 533 2910, Goodwin 332
Julian.Ortiz@queensu.ca

Geostatistics, stochastic modeling of ore deposits, sampling and QA QC, geometallurgical modelling

For more information on Dr. Ortiz' research: Geomet website

Julian Ortiz

Chris Pickles, Ph.D., P.Eng.

Professor

(613) 533-2759, Goodwin 342
Christopher.Pickles@queensu.ca

Processes and the Environment, Advanced Pyrometallurgy, Process Engineering for Metals Extraction, Advanced Metals Extraction

Chris Pickles

Asli Sari, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

(613) 533-2639, Goodwin 325A
Y.Sari@queensu.ca

Surface and underground mine planning, data analysis, machine learning applications in mine optimization, fleet management, mine automation

Asli Sari

Qian Zhang, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor


(613) 533-2746, Goodwin 344

Qian.Zhang@queensu.ca

Mining and Sustainability, Mineral Economics, Life-cycle Assessment, Carbon Footprint, Circular Economy, Resource Efficiency, Urban Mining

For more information on Dr. Zhang's research: GreeMVC Lab

Qian Zhang